blog · book reviews · lifestyle

Everything, Everything | Book Review

hi hello!

I hope you’re all having a lovely day! I wanted to take a bit of a break (ie. procrastinate some more) from my studies and talk about the book Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

I read this book a while back, and then recently saw it at the library, and could not resist rereading it!

Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetIt stars two people; Madeline and Olly that are vastly different but also very, very similar. Madeline has a disease (SCID) that basically causes her to be allergic to the world (and thus people). Olly is her new neighbor who moves in next door and they’re both sort of drawn to each other at first sight. The two begin communicating by IMing and writing messages to each other. Both Madeline and Olly are written to be wonderfully complex characters, but are still ultimately teenagers, and make young, impulsive decisions.IMG_1631

The book is written partly through illustrations and entry that Maddy creates in her diary; something that I, as a person who loves to journal, thought was a gorgeously intimate way to understand how she felt. I absolutely loved reading this book; it has a quiet, gentle sort of beauty that made me captivated and stole my heart.

Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetI have two problems with this book. One, very simple, I feel like the ending was very rushed – especially compared to the “build up” in the beginning 2/3 of it. My second problem, is more general and broad – about what the book represents. Without going into spoilers; it creates a “throw caution to the wind” sort of ideology about living with disabilities, and somewhat implies that if you have a disability you “aren’t living” which I think creates a dangerous mentality.

Part of the reason of that, is because Maddy and Olly are young; they’re teenagers (and as I all too often know in my own actions) can be recklessly impulsive, and seized with the thought to be something, do something, which is a sentiment I relate to.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to others; but I wouldn’t say it’s the best thing in the world (but honestly, what is?) I’ll probably still watch the movie when it comes out, largely because it stars Amandla Stenberg; who I absolutely adore!

Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetI hope you found this post helpful; and let me know if you decide to read the book!

Love,

Archita

Posted while listening to Song of Our Times by Harry Styles

my links:

twitter: @architaxb // personal instagram: @architaxb // blog + aesthetic instagram: @loveaxb // tumblr: architaxb.tumblr.com

pictures taken with a iPhone / edited with VSCO

Looking for More? Check out All The Bright Places Book Review + Spring Bucket List

Leave a Reply

